Sanaullah Zehri

Sanaullah Zehri nominated as next Balochistan chief minister

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)’s party head in Balochistan, Sardar Sanaullah Zehri, will replace Dr Abdul Malik Baloch as the provincial chief minister after the approval of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

“Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has announced Nawab Sanaullah Zehri as the next Chief Minister of Balochistan,” Radio Pakistan said.

Further, it said the provincial president of PML-N was nominated by PM Nawaz at a meeting in Islamabad on Thursday after consultation with allies and in the light of the Murree declaration among ruling coalition in Balochistan.

The announcement of Zehri’s appointment as chief minister came during the prime minister’s visit to Balochistan, where he held several meetings with the senior political leadership of the province.

Dr Baloch has completed 2.5 years as provincial chief minister earlier this month, and is likely to step down from the post.

A couple of days ago, sources in Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) said the prime minister looked reluctant to nominate Zehri as new chief minister of Balochistan and was unable to decide his replacement while considering options including letting Dr Baloch continue in the office.

The three coalition partners, PML-N, National Party (NP) and Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), had decided to break up the tenure of the provincial chief minister into shorter but equal periods of time after the 2013 general elections.

The three parties also decided both the NP and PML-N candidates would divide the five-year tenure among themselves, according to the 2013 Murree deal that had broken the deadlock over government formation.

An MoU was signed by Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo and Zehri on behalf of their respective parties.


NEO Web Desk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>