Ayaz Sadiq

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq re-elected as National Assembly speaker

ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) nominee Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was re-elected on Monday to the coveted office he had to relinquish after an election tribunal had nullified his election from NA-122 (Lahore V) on August 22.

While announcing the result, acting speaker Murtaza Javed Abbasi said, “Shafqat Mahmood secured 31 votes, while Sardar Ayaz Sadiq got 268 votes.” A total of 300 votes were polled and one vote was found invalid. “Sardar Ayaz Sadiq has been re-elected as NA speaker,” he announced.

All but one opposition party threw their weight behind Sadiq for the election of National Assembly speaker held today. The lower house of parliament held a rare session to elect its custodian. The election process started at 9am – and the results were announced by Acting Speaker Murtaza Javed Abbasi.

It is rare for the assembly to elect a speaker midway through its five-year term and even rarer to see the same person reentering the coveted office again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>