PTI wins most of Peshawar district council seats

PESHAWAR (Neo Web Desk): The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf has won majority of the seats during the re-polling in 11 wards of Peshawar for the district council.

The re-polling was held at 29 polling stations in 11 wards on Thursday.

According to unofficial election results, the PTI won nine seats of the district council.

It was followed by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, which got two.

Among the wards, where PTI candidates won, were Hazarkhwani II, Kakshal, Shekhan, Rashid Garhi.

The Election Commission of Pakistan will declare official results three days after re-polling.

The ECP has asked winning candidates to submit details of election expenditure with their respective returning officers saying it will notify their names as election winners after that.

The ECP also asked independent candidates to join political party of their choice within three days after the notification of re-polling results.

In Swabi, the tripartite alliance of ANP, JUI-F and PPP-P as well as independents swept the re-polling.

The ruling collation, including PTI, AJIP and JI, failed to clinch a single district seat.

According to unofficial results, the ANP secured five district council seats, while one seat went to its coalition partner, JUI-F. The remaining five seats were bagged by independents.

After re-polling, the overall party position shows that the ANP got 24 district council seats, PTI 10, JUI-F eight and the rest went to independents and others political parties.

There are 56 union councils in Swabi district.

In Lakki Marwat, Faridullah of PPP-P won the district council seat from Tajazai union council by getting 1,299 votes against JUI-F candidate Mohammad Zaman, who obtained 1,191 votes in the re-polling.

Haji Farhanullah of PTI won the tehsil seat from the same union council.

Jamil Ahmad Khan of JUI-F won Eesakhel district council seat by defeating PPP-P candidate Habibur Rehman. The tehsil council seat went to Gul Rehman of JUI-F.

In Karak, PTI emerged as the largest party in Karak and bagged seven seats of the district council after re-polling at 69 polling stations of 14 union councils.

It was followed by JUI-F with five seats.

Polling in Nari Panos union council didn’t take place due to a case pending with the Peshawar High Court.

According to unofficial results, independent candidate Hayat Khan won the district council seat from Palosa Sar union council.

In Ghundi Mir Khankhel union council, independent candidate Umar Khan Khattak won the district council seat, while another independent, Jan Alam, won the district council seat from Jandri union council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>