Postponed LG polls: Voting starts in Sindh, Punjab

KARACHI: The postponed local government elections have started in Punjab and Sindh today. Election material has already been handed to the polling staff.

Voting for chairman in Sialkot’s UC-24 and two Councillors in UC-2 is being held. The election in both UCs could not be convened owing to the candidates’ death.

Similarly, the vote was postponed in Bahawalpur’s UC-10 owing to the death of vice chairman candidate. Meantime, members of three district councils would be elected today.

The LG polls are being held in Dera Ghazi Khan, Lodran, Mandi Bahaud Din, Faisalabad, Multan, Jhang, Toba Tek Singh and Sheikhupura.

The local government elections in 345 constituencies of Sindh including one union committee of Karachi East that were postponed earlier will be held today.

It should be mentioned here that the elections are being held on those seats where election proceedings for Local Government Elections-2015 were postponed either due to death of candidate or pursuant to court orders.

According to the Provincial Election Commission, Sindh, a total of 577 polling stations has been established for polling in 345 constituencies.

A total of 20 polling stations has been set up for election in one union committee of Karachi East.

One polling station has been set up for one UC and two District Councils of Ghotki, 19 for three UCs and two District Councils of Khairpur, 163 for three UCs, equal number of DCs and 43 wards of Shaheed Benazirabad.

The elections are being held on 44 seats of union councils, 129 seats of wards members, 35 members district council, 65 chairman and vice chairman seats, six town committees and five municipal committees.

The polling is being held on eight seats of UCs and eight DCs of Naushero Feroze, one UC and one DC of Hyderabad, four UCs and four DCs of Jamshoro, one UC of Dadu, four UCs and four DCs of Tando Allahyar, eight UCs and seven DCs of Mirpurkhas, seven UCs of Tharparkar, one UC of Umerkot and two UCs of Sujawal.

The Provincial Election Commissioner has also set up complaint cells in his office here for receiving complaints pertaining to the polls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>