Polling underway for LG elections in Punjab, Sindh

Lahore: Polling began at 7:30 am and is to continue till 5:30 pm. A total of 20 districts; 8 from Sindh and 12 from Punjab are included in these polls. 25 million citizens are going to cast their vote to elect representatives of the local government bodies.

In Punjab, Lahore, Faisal­abad, Nankana Sahib, Gujrat, Bhakkar, Chakwal, Kasur, Pakpattan, Okara, Vehari, Lodhran and Bahawalnager have been included in the first phase of the elections whereas in Sindh, Larkana, Shikar­pur, Jacobabad, Kashmore, Kamber-Shahdadkot, Sukkur, Ghotki and Khairpur have been included in this phase.

So far, in Punjab, the administration and police have been responsible for ensuring the smooth conduct of the polling and the ECP has stated that the army will only be called if the need arises. In Sindh, however, army has already been deployed at sensitive polling stations.

However, long queues of people were witnessed at a number of polling stations where they would exercise their right to vote.

Rangers and police personnel will remain deployed throughout the day at polling stations which have been declared sensitive.

Monitoring Desk



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>