NA-154 Lodhran: Jehangir Tareen leading with 57320 votes

LODHRAN: PTI’s Jehangir Tareen is leading with 57320 votes so far according to the unofficial and unconfirmed results of 21 polling stations of Lodhran.

Polling started at 8:00 AM and continued till 5:00 PM in the evening without any interval.

Siddique Khan Baloch of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Jahangir Khan Tareen of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) are among the twenty contesting candidates.

The seat fell vacant after Baloch had been disqualified by an election tribunal on Aug 26 on a petition filed by Tareen, who had accused the former of possessing a fake educational degree and committing massive irregularities during the 2013 general elections.

The Supreme Court however set aside the tribunal’s decisions and ordered re-election, allowing Siddique Baloch to take part in the by-polls.

Total 303 polling stations have been set up for today’s polls; out of which six polling stations are declared most sensitive and 41 are put in sensitive category.

Strict security arrangements have been made to avoid any untoward incident.

About 419,183 registered voters will exercise the right of vote; in which there are 228,870 male and 190,312 female voters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>