Polling for 3rd phase of LG elections begins in Punjab Sindh

The third and final phase of local government elections in twelve districts of Punjab and six of Sindh is being held today.

The polling process which started at 7:30 am will continue till 5:30 pm without any break.

In Punjab, polling will be held in Layyah, Rajanpur, D G Khan, Muzaffargarh, Rawalpindi, Jhang, Khushab, Multan, Sialkot, Narowal, Rahim Yar Khan and Bahawalpur districts.

In Sindh, polling will be held in Karachi West, Karachi East, Karachi South, Karachi Central, Korangi and Malir.

The Election Commission has established a control room in Islamabad which will work till the finalisation of results.

Voters have been asked to bring their original national identity cards with them for casting of votes.  Vote can also be cast on expired identity cards.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to maintain law and order during polling.

Security arrangements in Karachi

A force of 35,057 policemen and 7,400 Rangers will provide security to polling stations in Karachi.

This was stated by Inspector General of Police Mr Ghulam Hyder Jamali and Home Secretary Mohammad Waseem while briefing the chief minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah in Karachi.

Inspector General of Police briefing the chief minister said Pakistan Rangers will be assisting police in creating a secure environment.

He said Pakistan Army is also deploying 10 companies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>