Polling ends, counting starts in AJK polls

MUZAFFARABAD: Counting of votes is underway after polling in 41 constituencies of Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly ended at 5:00pm without any break.

Strong competition is expected between Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) in today’s election.
Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) is contesting election on all 41 seats while PML-N has fielded 38 candidate and PTI is contesting election from 32 constituencies.

AJK Prime Minister Chaudhry Abdul Majeed is contesting from constituency LA-2, Mirpur-II. Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN) Azad Kashmir President Raja Farooq Haider is contesting from LA-28 while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Azad Kashmir President Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry is in the run from LA-3, Mirpur-II constituency.
A total number of 26,74,586 registered voters would exercise their voting right in today’s elections out of which 11,90,839 are female while 14,83,747 are male voters. A total number of 5,427 polling stations have been set up for today’s election.
Foolproof security arrangements have been made to ensure transparency, fairness and impartiality of elections. Local police and army jawans will work collectively to allow voters to cast their vote freely.

At least 17,000 army personnel, 4,000 Frontier Constabulary soldiers, 4,000 policemen from Punjab, 2,000 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and some 5,200 have been deployed to maintain law and order situation during the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>