Pakistan wins 1st T20 against New Zealand, Afridi declared man of the match

AUCKLAND: Pakistan won the first T20 match by defeating New Zealand by 16 runs at Eden Park.

New Zealand decided to field first after winning the toss. Pakistan set a target of 172 runs in 20 overs. The host scored 155 for all in 20 overs.

Opener Mohammad Hafeez scored 61 after facing 47 balls. He hit 8 boundaries and 2 sixes in his inning.

Skipper Shahid Khan Afridi made 23 runs in just 8 balls.

Afridi was declared man of the match for his brilliant all round performance.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Tom Latham, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi (wk), Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan and Trent Boult.

Pakistan:  Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Shahid Afridi (capt), Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali/Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Amir.

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir played his first international match after five-year ban over spot-fixing. He grabbed one wicket on the last bowl of his last over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>