joe root

Joe Root regains No.1 ranking, Yasir Shah takes 2nd position

DUBAI: England batsman Joe Root has regained the No.1 ranking while Pakistani wrist spinner Yasir Shah has become the second highest-ranked bowler in the world in the latest International Cricket Council (ICC) Test player rankings released on Tuesday.
Root scored 88 and 71 against Pakistan in the Dubai Test which has helped him reclaim the top spot from Australia captain Steven Smith.
Root, who entered the Test trailing Smith by 13 points, now leads the Australian by three points. This means the Yorkshire batsman will have to perform strongly in the third Test, starting in Sharjah from Sunday, to retain the position he first achieved following the Trent Bridge Test against Australia in August.

Younus Khan, Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq and Asad Shafiq have also reaped the rewards of good performances in the Dubai Test, which went down to the wire.
Younus has returned to the top-5 in fifth position following knocks of 56 and 118, Misbah has moved up five places to 11th following his scores of 102 and 87, and Asad Shafiq has achieved a career-high 12th after he scored 83 and 87.
For this performance, Asad has earned 43 points, which, in turn, has put him ahead of Virat Kohli, Ross Taylor, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brendon McCullum and Faf du Plessis.
The Dubai Test was also a memorable one for Pakistani leg-spinner Yasir Shah, who achieved the No.2 ranking for the first time in his career. Yasir picked up 8/180 in Pakistan’s 178 runs victory, which earned him 25 points. This has enabled him to leapfrog the pace trio of England’s James Anderson and Stuart Broad, and New Zealand’s Trent Boult.

ICC Test batsman rankings

1. Joe Root (Eng) 913 points

2. Steven Smith (Aus) 910

3. AB de Villiers (SA) 890

4. Hashim Amla (SA) 881

5. Younus Khan (Pak) 854

6. Angelo Mathews (SL) 851

7. Kane Williamson (NZ) 813

8. Alastair Cook (Eng) 783

9. David Warner (Aus) 775

10. Chris Rogers (Aus) 761

ICC Test bowler rankings

1. Dale Steyn (SA) 905 points

2. Yasir Shah (Pak) 827

3. James Anderson (Eng) 824

4. Stuart Broad (Eng) 817

5. Trent Boult (NZ) 814

6. Mitchell Johnson (Aus) 773

7. Vernon Philander (SA) 770

8. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) 760

9. Rangana Herath (SL) 751

10. Tim Southee (NZ) 713


NEO Web Desk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>