India, Pakistan series to kickoff in Sri Lanka on Dec 15: IPL chairman

NEW DELHI: Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman Rajeev Shukla announced on Thursday India and Pakistan will play five cricket matches starting December 15 in Sri Lanka.

Shukla’s statement came hours after Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif gave the green light for the bilateral series between the two countries to be held in Sri Lanka.

The cricket boards of both countries had written to their respective governments seeking permission to play the series in Sri Lanka after India refused to play in the UAE.

This will be the first time that a Test playing nation has rejected playing a series in the UAE since it became Pakistan’s adopted home after the 2009 Lahore attacks.

Web Monitoring Desk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>