The International Cricket Council (ICC) logo at the ICC headquarters in Dubai

ICC to review Big Three decisions

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced a complete review of the changes brought about by the ‘Big Three’ — India, Australia and England — in 2014 and also confirmed the appointment of an independent chairman for the world body.Current ICC and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chairman Shashank Manohar said the decision would assure transparency in governance.“We had very purposeful and positive meetings, and the decisions taken clearly reflect that we collectively want to improve governance, not only of the ICC but also of the member boards,” said Manohar. “This will enhance the image and quality of the sport. No member of the ICC is bigger than the other and I am determined to make a meaningful contribution in this regard.”

Another important decision taken in the ICC board and committee meeting was the removal of permanent status of India, Australia and England on the Financial and Commercial Affairs Committee (FCA) and the Executive Committee (EC) — two of the most powerful forums in the world body.A five-man steering group — comprising of Manohar, FCA chairman Giles Clarke, ICC’s Governance Review Committee chairman Nazmul Hassan,  Executive Committee chairman David Peever, and Associate and Affiliates’ Global Representative Andrew Armitage — was also established to review the decision of ‘Big Three’ in 2014. The group will now present recommendations in the ICC’s annual conference in June.

The decision to appoint an independent ICC chairman was driven by the hope to avoid any ‘conflict of interest’. The new chairman, who will be elected later this year, will have to give up his post in any member board if he has any. The individual will serve for a period of two years and can be elected for a maximum of three terms.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>