Election results: Tories closing in on a majority

David Cameron says he hopes to govern for all of the UK as a BBC forecast gives the Tories 325 seats – enough to form a slender majority in the Commons.
The prime minister said it was “too early to say” the final result but he hoped to form a government.
Labour has been wiped out by the SNP in Scotland and is failing to make enough progress in England and Wales.
The Lib Dems are heading for as few as 12 MPs, with Vince Cable, Ed Davey and Danny Alexander losing their seats.
The BBC forecast, with well over half of the results now in, is Conservative 325, Labour 232, the Lib Dems 12, the SNP 56, Plaid Cymru three, UKIP two, the Greens one and others 19.
In other election developments:
Nick Clegg has held on to his Sheffield Hallam seat but said it had been a “cruel and punishing night” for his party and he would be making a statement on his future later
George Galloway has lost to Labour in Bradford West
Scottish Labour leader Jim Murphy and shadow foreign secretary Douglas Alexander have lost their seats to the SNP
UKIP are polling strongly in the North of England and Douglas Carswell has retained his Clacton seat but Mark Reckless has lost his seat and Nigel Farage could fail to win South Thanet
Former Lib Dem leader Charles Kennedy lost his seat to the SNP in Ross, Skye and Lochaber
Conservative minister Esther McVey has lost Wirral West to Labour
The Green Party is predicted to get two MPs, according to the NOP/MORI exit poll for the BBC, ITV and Sky
George Galloway has been reported to the police for retweeting an exit poll before voting ended
Watch BBC election coverage and follow latest reaction
Mr Cameron all but declared victory in a speech after being returned as MP for Witney, in which he set out his intention to press ahead with an in/out referendum on Britain’s membership of the European Union and to complete the Conservatives’ economic plan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>