Black Caps give 197 runs target to green Shirts in Wellington T20 decider

New Zealand made 196 scores in 20 overs against Pakistan in 3rd and final T20 match.

Pakistan won the toss and elected to field first against New Zealand at Wellington decider. New Zealand batted very well and gave a good target to Green Shirts. Guptill and Williamson started the innings and put up a 57 runs partnership. Guptill bowled out by Shahid Afridi at a score of 42 runs. Williamson made 33 runs while Anderson remained the top scorer with 82 not out.

The chasing team have won the last five T20 internationals at the stadium.

New Zealand omitted paceman Matt Henry and legspinner Todd Astle from their team, with left-armer Trent Boult returning for Astle after sitting out the 10-wicket win in Hamilton.

Pakistan made two changes, with Mohammad Rizwan and Anwar Ali replacing Sohaib Maqsood and Umar Gul. It’s likely to be 35-year-old Afridi’s final international in New Zealand.

The weather was overcast and windy but there was no rain in the forecast. A crowd of between 15,000 and 20,000 was expected in Wellington with the series poised at 1-1. The match starts at 7pm (NZT).


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Rizwan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi (captain), Imad Wasim, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Anwar Ali,  Mohammad Amir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>