ATC re-issues arrest warrants for senior MQM members

KARACHI - An Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) in Karachi on Saturday re-issued arrest warrants for 20 Muttahida Qaumi Movement leaders including, its London-based chief Altaf Hussain over delivering a hate speech against the military establishment and national integrity.

The MQM leaders including, Farooq Sattar, Waseem Akhtar, Nasreen Jalil, Khush Bakht Shujaat, Rashid Godil, Khawaja Izhar, Qamar Mansoor and Rauf Siddique and 200 other unknown party workers were named in 23 FIRs. The complainants alleged that the accused had attended a public gathering and facilitated the MQM chief in his speech against the security agencies on July 12 last year.

Altaf had accused the paramilitary Rangers of torturing and killing his party workers in ongoing operation in Karachi against criminals.


During Saturday’s proceeding, the police informed the ATC that raids were conducted in different areas of the city to nab the accused however, no arrest was made. The court re-issued non-bailable arrest warrants for all the accused and directed to appear them before the court on January 15.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>