Arrangements finalised for AJK elections on Thursday

MUZAFFARABAD: Authorities have finalised all arrangements for Thursday’s elections of Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly, as election campaign ended on Tuesday.

According to Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK), Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mughal, adequate arrangements have been made to ensure transparency, fairness and impartiality of general elections.

As many as 427 candidates of different political parties and the independent ones are in the run for the elections.

AJK Election Commission, 328 contestants will contest from 29 constituencies of AJK’s nine districts while 99 will be competing from 12 constituencies of Kashmiri refugees, spreading over four provinces of Pakistan.

The highest number of candidates in the run is from AJK’s capital Muzaffarabad where 67 candidates are in the run for the six constituencies, which have a total of 429,276 votes, including 191,112 female votes.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN) Azad Kashmir President Raja Farooq Haider is contesting from LA-28, Muzaffarabad-V, where 12 other candidates are also in the run.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Azad Kashmir President Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry is in the run from LA-3, Mirpur-II, where seven candidates are contesting.

Presiding over a meeting General Officer commanding Jhelum Maj. Gen. Muhammad Chiragh Haider says foolproof security arrangements have been made on polling day.

Local police and army jawans will work collectively to allow voters to cast their vote freely.

Officials said 17,000 army personnel, 4,000 Frontier Constabulary soldiers, 4,000 policemen from Punjab, 2,000 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and some 5,200 from AJK have been deployed in the 29 constituencies.

Another 4,900 army personnel would be deployed in the 12 constituencies in Pakistan along with personnel of law enforcement agencies.

Fourteen constituencies in AJK have been declared either sensitive or most sensitive and, therefore, deployment of troops there will be higher than other constituencies.

Transportation of ballot papers begin today (Wednesday) under the protection of the army and police. Ballot papers to remote polling stations, such as those in Karachi, interior Sindh and southern Punjab, have been sent in army helicopters.

Polling for the two constituencies of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly including LA-30 Jammu and LA-36 Valley, will be held in Karachi on Thursday (July 21, 2016).

The candidates for LA-30 Jammu include Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Nasir Hussain Dar, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chaudhry Mir Haider, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Muhammad Mansha and Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) Maqsood-uz-Zaman Khan.

There are 2574 votes in Karachi West of LA-30 Jammu, 713 in Karachi South, 2102 in Karachi East, 638 in Karachi Central, 1553 in Malir and 698 in Korangi.

For LA-36 Valley, the candidates include PML-N Naeem Khan, PPP Amir Ghaffar, PTI Rizwan Shah and MQM Rehman Ghasi.

There are 3300 votes of Valley LA-36 in Karachi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>